Richard’s Escape

It’s fitting that I should be doing this on World Listening Day as the theme this year is H2O.

This piece is about the sea and how, on Monday 31 July 1967, my life could have ended.

I’d gone with a holiday friend to play in the sea at Barmouth in Wales, something I’d done before, never with incident. But this day the sea didn’t want to give us back. We were taken out of our depth by the tide.

I vividly remember being under the water. I have no memory of emotion. I don’t remember panicking. I just remember the sound of the water around me.

We were both pulled from the water by a woman who’d gone to save another girl in trouble, but the sea kept her and both Gillian, my holiday friend, and I were saved.

More on this 185th Disquiet Junto project (“Summon up a memory, and then summarize it in sound”) at:

disquiet.com/2015/07/16/disquiet0185-memorymusic/

More on the Disquiet Junto at:

disquiet.com/junto/

This project was proposed by Robert Thomas, more from whom at:

dizzybanjo.com/

Join the Disquiet Junto at:

soundcloud.com/groups/disquiet-junto/

Disquiet Junto general discussion takes place at:

disquiet.com/forums/

Leave a Reply

