Found inspiration

Dubbing off the last few tapes from my recent haul and I found this interesting recording.

I think it’s the recording of a school concert of some kind, or youth theatre production perhaps. It’s very difficult to make out what is being said and later in the tape they start to sing.

I’ll do some more cleaning up on it and see if I can make out any of the words – unless you can!

Finds like this inspire me to create something new. Something far removed from the original recording but relying totally on it.

In my piece Untitled (Tomorrow Is Cancelled) everything you hear is from theĀ original tape. It’s been sampled and all kinds of effects added with Ableton Live.

There are no other instruments other that what you heard on the first extract from the tape.

Leave a Reply

